Blog Comments

This is one of those points I wish someone else would write as I have had limited success with getting blog comments.  I do get them, but they are sporadic.  Also, I often get them for older posts rather than my newer stuff.

I do, however, know someone who is GREAT at getting comments.  Her name is Penny Zeller.  She gets LOTS of comments!  Check out her blog here:  http://pennyzeller.wordpress.com/

I can tell you one thing that Penny does better than nearly anyone else I’ve ever seen… she responds!  To every commenter.  I’ll be honest I’m not sure how she does it.

You can also host giveaways to encourage people to comment.

If you have great ideas for getting people to comment, please share them in comments to this article (that was tricky, huh?).  But seriously.  If you have a great way to encourage people to come and participate on blogs, let us know!

See, told you I wasn’t very good at this one.

  1. April 10, 2012 at 1:11 pm

    Guess I’d better comment to assure you. (Smile.) All your posts are a blessing, even if they’re about things we already know but need a reminder. I’ve saved some that I need to work with, carrying out what you suggest. Thanks for the series.

  2. April 10, 2012 at 2:56 pm

    Maybe it’s because you leave us with so much valuable infromation our brians can’t format a decent comment, much less figure out how to make our fingers work to type it out. 🙂

  3. April 10, 2012 at 3:33 pm

    I am always slightly surprised at which posts of mine garner comments. They are generally the posts in which I talk about my real, behind the scenes, life. So, my take on that is that my audience likes to get to know me, and chime in with their own life stories.

    I imagine that what draws comments in might be different for each blog. Controversial issues normally bring a good discussion with them.

    I agree, though–it’s really important to pay attention to the comments on your blog, and respond to them each one of three ways–by commenting back, emailing, or visiting the commentor’s (that doesn’t appear to be a word) blog, and leaving a comment there.

    Blog commenting has radically changed with twitter. I find that if I really love an informative post, I will tweet about it rather than leave a comment saying that I love it.

    I think a lot of the discussions which used to take place (awkwardly) in the comment sections of blogs, now happen on twitter. However, those discussions are gone before we know it!

    Thanks for the sweet and honest post!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

